Design Your Own Surfboard | Activity 1: Kick start

For today’s activity was about designing your own surboard. I firstly watched the video and took a look at pictures for some ideas and inspirations, by looking at these surfboards it has helped for what I was going to be creating.

Later on after looking at those image this is what I have created on my design, these were things that could realate to summer so what I did was shapes like a sun and short lines I also did flowers since they are bright and vibrant especially in summer.

This was a fun activity to create a surfboard with your designs and it was interesting to take part in this since it was about summer.

3 thoughts on “Design Your Own Surfboard | Activity 1: Kick start

  1. Hi Fala,

    This activity looks like lot of fun. You have created a very summery surfboard, I love the use of flowers and suns dotted around. The short lines you have used also remind me of mountains too.

    Using a brown background colour really helps to make the colours in the flowers stand out. It actually reminds me of a surfboard I once saw that was made out of coconut husks. This material is compacted together and sealed, making it an eco friendly way to make a surfboard. Have you thought about what your surfboard might be made of too?

    Thanks for sharing Fala, if I saw your surfboard in a shop I think I would have to buy it!

    Emma – SLJ

    1. Kia Ora Emma

      Great question this is something that I haven’t thought about, my surfboard would probably be made out of fiberglass since it is one the best materials for surfboards and it gives it strength when surfing. Would you like to try out surfing and if you have what was it like experiencing that moment.

      Thanks for taking your time to comment on my blog. Looking foward for feedback from you

      Fala

      1. Hi Fala,

        Fiberglass is a great material to choose for your surfboard, did you know that they use it to make some kayaks and boats too?

        I have tried surfing before, it is definitely a lot of hard work! It requires a lot of stamina and upper body strength to get yourself up on the board. I would love to give it another go though.

        Have you tried it before or would you like to at some point? You can actually practice it at the beach without a board. If you lie on the sand and jump up without putting your knees on the sand, it’s great practice for what it will be like out on the water.

        Emma – SLJ